Honey Lemon Cake

26237868296_45ea6e77ea_n

The Bakery 64 Site is slowly coming along. I’ve been fussing with the home page for a few months now and finally decided to start publishing on the blog page even without the home page being done.

26197564691_e1da08f3ef_n

One of the things I enjoy about baking is that there is always something new to learn or try or test. In a given week, I probably save 5-6 recipes that I want to test out. There are many decorating techniques that I want to learn and improve upon.

25659021124_0b27d9ec64_n

Last weekend provided me the opportunity to test a new recipe and a fun decorating skill. I follow The Cake Blog as a source of inspiration. I used the Honey Cupcake recipe shared a few years ago to create this Honey Lemon Cake.

26237874446_cfbd5cf6d6_n

The only change I made was to bake the batter as a layer cake than cupcakes. The recipe for 12 cupcakes was perfect for my 6-inch pans.I used my homemade lemon curd for the filling to give a little tang to each bite.

26171357572_f582342ec6_n

I also made the honey cream cheese frosting. I did add a little milk to make the piping of the frosting easier. I’ve seen pulled-dot frosting on a few cakes recently and wanted to test it out. It takes a little time, but the final effect it worth it.

25990964090_8d07fc34eb_n

The end result was a delicious yellow layer cake with a hint of honey taste. Filled with a tangy lemon curd. Decorated with honey infused buttercream frosting.

26197570431_2bc03ab81b_n

Want this cake for yourself? A 6-inch 2 layer cake is $20 from my shop. Just click on the contact me tab and send me a message.

 

Leave a Reply

